Cioppino & Pear Crisp

January 1, 2010

Happy New Year everyone! This is so simple it’s almost embarskin. .. . . but really, it’s usually the simple things in life that are best. . . . as I think back on 2009, I’m filled with thanks for the blessings in my life. . . . my amazing husband who truly knows me and loves me anyway, my beautiful daughter whose smile makes everything alright and my son who put’s the spark in my life. There’s nowhere I’d rather be than home with these three . . . back to reality. . .the beautiful daughter and sparky son are with their boyfriend/girlfriend tonight as any self respecting young person should be. . . . us old fogies however are staying in and ringing in the New Year in our recliners in front of the big screen. . . . another blessing!

The hubby won’t be home until about 6 tonight. . . . . .something about needing to make sure all the “year end” stuff is wrapped up. Okey Dokey, I’ll just entertain myself. I’ll start by making this Pear Crisp. . . . . one of the motto’s I live by (and there are many), “Life is uncertain, eat dessert first.” Don’t know that I’ll actually eat this first, but I’m gonna make it first.

One of the ways I show my husband how much I love him is that I make him fruit desserts. . . . . the man does not like chocolate. Seriously! As you can imagine, I had to weigh this very carefully when we were dating. . . . . could I make this kind of a sacrifice? Was he worth it? Hmmmmm. . . . . . . .there are times even today when I feel sorry for myself. . . . .we’ll be out to dinner with friends and all the couples order a dessert with two forks. .. . .Bruce and Joan will have the Chocolate Souffle with a Raspberry Drizzle. .. . . Paul and Joanne will have the Chocolate Lava Cake that oozes goodness all over the plate. . . . . and WE will have the poached pears. Those of you who know my husband know that he always says “order whatever you want Honey,” but how can I do that when I can see the fear in his eyes. . . . it’s really a small sacrifice, I’m just sayin. .. .sometimes I have a little pity party. So tonight, I’ll make the man something he’s gonna love. I had these pears in the fridge getting kinda wierd anyway. .. . ..

Peel the pears with a veggie peeler and then take a spoon and scoop the seed part out. Then flip em over . . . .slice, rotate, chop.

K, something has gone wrong. . . . .the previous picture was too yellow so I tried to adjust things. . . now my life is in black and white. What the. ..  anyway, throw the pears in a bowl and toss some sugar on em. . . .

We have returned to our normal programing. .. . .actually hubby came home and so now my life is in color again. Awwwww. . . . . .aint love grand! Toss all the topping ingredients in the bowl. ..  flour, sugar, brown sugar and cinnamon and pecans. Then just for fun, melt a stick of butter in the micro and pour that over mixing with a fork to incorporate. You want chunks, not smooth.

Now, plop those juicy pears into a buttered dish. .. . .I like to use an oval baking dish cuz I think they’re cuter. Then sprinkle the topping mixture over the top. . . . oooh, this is looking very promising, very promising indeed. Now, pop this in the fridge until we’re ready to bake it. You want it pipin hot out of the oven so that when you put the big scoop of vanilla bean ice cream on it it melts all over. . . . . .oh, the anticipation of it all!

Happy New Year Honey! I love our life.

OK, here goes, don’t blink or you might miss it! This is literally going to take 10 minutes to make start to finish. . . .so whenever you’re ready. . . . .

You can use whatever fish/shellfish you want. I found these gorgeous huge scallops and beautiful Alaskan King Crab legs. . . and this fish was caught by the sparky son in the ocean. . . . of course. You are going to want about 2 -3 pounds of fish. You can use clams, mussels, shrimp. . . . be sure to use a firm fish. If you are unsure what this means, ask the person at the fish counter. . . . in fact, I got this recipe from the cute Filipino lady at Raley’s. We like each other. So, you are going to get a jar of the cioppino sauce (located at the fish counter), and a cup of chicken broth, and a cup of wine. .. . . .which reminds me of another motto I live by. ..  “if you wouldn’t drink it, don’t cook with it!” You’re also gonna wanna add some sugah and spice for luck. .. .so have that ready too.

Pour the cioppino sauce in your pan – once again, I like oval, everything fits – add a cuppa wine, a cuppa chicken broth, a couple-a teaspoons of sugar. .. .

Now add some spice. .. .. a couple or five shakes should do it. Depends how much heat ya like. . . . bring it to a simmer.

Now pop your fish in. Cubed fish is gonna take about 10 minutes. These giant scallops are gonna take about 10 minutes. If you use little bay scallops they are only gonna take about 3 minutes. Shrimp is gonna take about five minutes. So you’re gonna have to use your head here. Seriously though, don’t over cook the fish! So, start with your fish and then add the other bits . . . . I let this go for about five minutes and then. . . .

layed the gorgeous crab legs down . . . . .turned the heat way down to a gentle simmer. . . . .

Popped the lid on and set the timer for five minutes. .. . .this is hubby’s hand. When I first saw this picture I was horrified, I thought, omgosh when did I get hairy knuckles. .. .can those be waxed????!!!!!!

Bring the whole shebang to the table. Serve it with some lemon from your mother-in-law’s tree and some chopped parsley, which by the way is not for show, it actually brightens the flavor of the soup. . . . . .and of course some hot crusty sourdough bread. Bon Appetite! And, before I forget, now would be a great time to pop that pear crisp in the oven.

Oh . . . . . this smells heavenly . . . . I’m such a good wife, sacrificing this way.

One Response to “Cioppino & Pear Crisp”

  1. Oh dear God – this looks incredible!!!! Great post and SUPER FUNNY!!!

Leave a Reply

