The New and Improved “Church Lady”

April 16, 2011

Thanks to all of you who said you were glad I was blogging again and that you missed me! 🙂 Blogging is such a strange thing. . . . those of us who do it shouldn’t care if anyone else reads it (except of course my husband and kids,) but I think we do. . . .at least I do. So, for those who leave a comment, you just can’t imagine how much that fuels me! I’d love to know that you’re out there, hear your experiences trying the recipe’s, or if there is anything you’d like to see on my blog,  Anyway, I’m glad to be blogging my adventures in cooking again. There are going to be a few changes though. . . . I’m not one for “New Year’s Resolutions” but coincidentally, in January, I decided that it was time for a change. The Church Lady needs to “lighten up.” So, the recipe’s that you will be seeing from here forward will involve very little, or no, heavy cream, butter, sugar or Crisco! They will, however, be loaded with flavor, interesting, culturally diverse and so much as possible involve whole grains, organic produce and “grass fed” or “free range” meat. NOW, DO NOT PANIC . . . . . it’s gonna be awesome. Keep in mind, I have a 22 year old son who acts as my “in-house food critic” and so I need to keep things interesting. I’m also going to be posting, on occasion, the myriad of food festivals, farmer’s markets, restaurants and cooking schools that I attend. . . and no promises there . . . . . but if I cook it, it’s going to be healthy and I’ll give you the nutrition info. And, I plan to keep you posted on my “slow but steady” progress. So far, I’ve lost 10 pounds. . . . . that’s net, including the 3 lbs. I gained in Hawaii! Ironically, my husband has lost about 12. . . . . DANG! I’ve just made some “Greek Stuffed Peppers” which I’ve popped in the oven. Stay tuned!

5 Responses to “The New and Improved “Church Lady””

  1. Lorri James said

    Congratulations! I can’t wait to try the new and improved Church Lady recipes 🙂

  2. Cindy Dickson said

    Oh, I will be waiting anxiously for every blog! I can’t wait to see what you bring our way, and know it will be great. Congrats on your progress, too! Silly boys – don’t know how they can lose weight so easily. Don’t be discouraged!! A few changes here and there make a world of difference!!

  3. Liz J. said

    Yay! Your “Bombay sliders” are a top favorite in our home 🙂 So glad to see you back!

  4. Megan Mentink said

    I love your blog! You inspire me. I was looking and food blogs today and felt compelled to look to see if you had made any updates. Now I have some recipes to try. Hope to see more soon!

Leave a Reply

